Will Nightcrawler (2014) be a good Halloween movie?

night1I think I’m going to go see Nightcrawler (2014) when it comes out October 31st, simply based on the buzz, and the fact that I think Jake Gyllenhaal is a good actor.  There’s not much to say about this movie yet, but bloodydisgusting.com seems to have high praise for it despite the mixed reviews posted on rottentomatoes.com.  Chris Bumbray of Joblo.com gave this movie a 10/10, reaffirming my belief that this movie is going to be good.

The premise of the movie is a bit far-fetched, but uses the social media obsession to kick off its joyride into crime.  Jake Gyllenhaal plays a man who becomes a video journalist, getting the hot video of the most outrageously horrible and sick crimes. From the trailer, I can tell that he is not a good guy, which is a bold move.  Having your main character be an unlikable weirdo is never a good choice, but the ultimate verdict remains to be seen.  Given that this is coming out on Halloween, I expect a lot of blood and character death.

Renee Russo plays a businesswoman who buys Gyllenhaal’s crime videos.  As you might expect, things get out of control, and the characters get caught up in the unexpected.  That’s about as generic as it gets, but the trailer does look good.  It is well shot and the movie looks like it has great character moments.  Russo is an underrated actress in my opinion, and she probably will attract a lot of people to the movie.  It is rated R though, so it might be a tough go for some people.

I really enjoyed Gyllenhaal’s performance in Zodiac (2007), where he plays an obsessive journalist, and I think I see some of that character in this movie.  He takes it to the extreme though, judging by the trailer.  I guess I’ll have to see if all these things come together, but hopefully the movie contains more thrills than preachy satire.

