What’s on On-Demand #2?

This week, I return back to my cable company’s crappy On-Demand service to see what they have in store for me, the movie watcher.  To be honest, I don’t expect much out this crappy On-Demand service, because the free movies are few and far-between.  Sometimes there’s a hidden gem in there though, mostly because I like some moves that other people think are crap, so there is that.  Have you seen any of these movies before?

ondemand11.  Baby Rain Must Fall (1965) – This movie is nothing special as far as On-Demand goes, but I love Steve McQueen, so this is a hidden gem in my department.  Exactly what I was talking about.  The story is kinda strange, but the performances are just right, featuring Lee Remick and Steve McQueen as two people you might not think would fall for each other.  Today, this film is largely forgotten, but when it isn’t, critics complain about the screenplay or the tired nature of the roles.  To be honest, crap criticism like that isn’t fair.  This isn’t Casablanca, this is an on-demand low-budget movie, so it’s stuff like this that needs to be given a fair chance, not dismissed out of hand.  I don’t what I’m talking about.

ondemand22.  The Ambassador’s Daughter (1956) – This is one of those second features that reminds me of a movie done on the cheap for the drive-in.  There’s nothing very scandalous at the outset of this movie, despite it trying very hard to be a rebellious teen-movie.  It’s only remarkable for John Forsythe and  Olivia de Havilland, but their performances are dreadful.  This is just terrible and the quality is even worse, even on my crappy on-demand service.  

3.  Requiem for a Heavyweight (1962) – Apparently this was a play and an adaptation for television.  I haven’t seen either of those, but the movie version stars Mickey Rooney and Anthony Quinn, not necessary in that order, because the great Mickey Rooney is relegated to support for this one.  That’s okay though, because Quinn outperforms almost everybody.  This is the movie Mickey Rourke’s The Wrestler wants to be. I wasn’t able to watch the whole thing, but it was good in my opinion. 

4.  Victim (1961)  – They’re really reaching back into the closet for this crappy movie, because I hadn’t even heard of this one.  However, it is notable because it is one of the first films to deal with homosexuality honestly, not as a joke.  It’s a little dated, but otherwise it has been buried.  It stars  Dirk Bogarde and he does a lot of talking.  Talking on the phone.  Arguing with people next door.  It goes on and on.  Oh well.

ondemand35.  The A-Team (2010) – This is the lukewarm Liam Neeson remake or re-imagining or whatever of George Peppard’s A-Team television show.  I love that show and this movie is crap in comparison. Bradley Cooper dialogue is crappy and Quinton Jackson has no charisma whatsoever.  He doesn’t fit in well in this movie.  He sits around until Liam Neeson sneers and decides to come up with a plan.  I’m not sure which is more forgettable, this movie or Victim (1961), but at least Victim deals with a social issue.  The A-Team is just a crappy action movie.  How many times can I say crap?  Seriously.

ondemand56.  Iron Man (2008) – The original Robert Downey Jr Iron Man is a good movie.  I don’t need to start a dissertation here because this movie is pretty well-known and it’s on television all the damn time.  That’s probably why my crappy cable service was able to pick it up cheap.  Now that I think about it, I had forgotten the talented Jeff Bridges was in this movie as Obediah Stane, Tony Stark’s strongest competitor in business.  I think he does a good job with what he’s got.  It’s not a particularly deep role, but he comes off as a creep and a jerk, so I guess he succeeds.  He didn’t carry the thing though, because that honor would go to Robert Downey Jr.  Marvel owes everything to that man!

ondemand4HOW MANY CLICKS CAN I GET WITH A PICTURE OF ROBERT DOWNEY JR????

 

