Sherlock Holmes Marathon Announced – Apr 24

holmes34This April 24th, I’m going to sit right here with Sherlock Holmes and seek out the mysterious, the dramatic, and the familiar.  The familiar is Sherlock Holmes.  The dramatic is all those movies and TV episodes I like, from Basil Rathbone to Jeremy Brett.  I’m going to pick some and marathon it up, baby!  Oh and I’m going to seek out some things I’ve missed along the way, so that’s the mysterious part of my marathon.  This coincides with marathons by other Sherlockians this April 24th, so I hope everyone enjoys their Holmes mysteries!  Grab your pipe and deerstalker!

10.  The Private Life of Sherlock Holmes (1959) – I can’t believe I’ve never seen this Christopher Lee movie, with Lee as Holmes.  It totally baffles me as to why I haven’t been able to find this movie sooner, but now it’s my mission to watch this movie.  I really hope it’s good, because I’ve heard good and bad about it.

9.  The Case of the Silk Stocking (2004) – The only thing I remember about this Rupert Evertt movie is that I didn’t like it back in 2004.  Here’s to trying again!  Let nobody say I don’t give second chances.  I’ve heard some good things since it first came out and it’s generally regarded as “good” by some critics.  What part?  Well, now I’ve got to find out.

8,7,6.  Benedict Cumberbatch Bonanza – The first season of Sherlock is probably the best, so I’m going to give that a go.  Hopefully, I won’t get sick of Cumberbatch too fast, but I remember the first season as being enjoyable.  Honestly.

5.  Murder by Decree (1979) – This is a dry Christopher Plummer as Holmes in a Netflix staple.  I’m not sure if that’s good or bad.  A friend of mine said this movie was surprising, so I’ve got to figure out what that means!  My deduction hat is working overtime…

4.  Sherlock Holmes and the Voice of Terror (1942) – This is Basil Rathbone’s attempt at a modern Sherlock Holmes not set in period London.  It has Evelyn Ankers, a very good supporting actress, and has other good things going for it.  This is the first Sherlock Holmes movie Rathbone did after signing with Universal and I’m going to try to pick out what I liked about it.

3.  The Masks of Death (1984) – A 70 year old Peter Cushing plays Sherlock Holmes in this movie.  Why would I want to see that crap?  Well, if Ian McKellen can do it in 2015, then so can Peter Cushing in 1984, right?  Or so I will see.  Drumroll.

Hound of the Baskervilles (1939) – Now it’s Basil Rathbone’s turn to try this famous story out.  I figured, why not?  It’s the first one he ever did and should be good enough to watch at least once.  I’ve seen the second of the two features, which were commissioned by 20th Century Fox.  They are period pieces.

1.  Jeremy Brett’s Sherlock Holmes – Many episodes of Granada’s Sherlock Holmes are due up for this marathon, including my favorites, The Red-Headed League, The Second Stain, The Resident Patient, The Final Problem, and others.

0.  BONUS – THE MR. HOLMES TRAILER – The 2015 movie starring Ian McKellen has a trailer out and is apparently opening in June or July.  I can’t figure out when.  Anyway, the older Holmes has been done before, but it should be interesting to see McKellen’s performance as the famous detective.  Also, this movie is based on a very good book, which is a plus.  Hopefully, it is good.  No doubt I’ll do a review when it comes out.  Right? Right!

