Happy Birthday to Orson Welles!

wars2Indiewire.com is celebrating Orson Welles’ 100th birthday by claiming that Citizen Kane is the best written movie ever in the history of movies and the history of history.  WHAT?  Okay, don’t get me wrong, because Citizen Kane is a great movie and one of the true classics, but do I need another friggin top ten list here?  The best ever? 

Better than Dirty Harry?  Okay, for real, I think it is up there.  It’s on television all the time and I usually catch it when I’m in the right mood, so maybe those repeated viewings have dulled my opinion of it.  I’m still partial to either The Godfather, The Maltese Falcon, or Dr Strangelove as the best written movie ever.  The best screenplay, I mean.  Or maybe Pulp Fiction or Unforgiven.  It’s really hard to choose just one that’s THE best.  Gotta hand it to Indiewire.com for taking a stand.  I guess they love Orson Welles.  Was he into indy films?

