Great Debate: Do I have to throw out my Dukes of Hazzard cars?

The only thing I have with the Confederate flag on it is a set of Dukes of Hazzard cars, which was the most recognizable Dodge Charger in the world at one point.  I’m okay with people removing the Confederate flag from states of office and atop buildings in the South, however I’m a little embarrassed now to have models of the General Lee and I’m not sure why.  Should I throw out these cars?

I can remember watching the Dukes of Hazzard and the A-Team with my parents when I was a kid.  These shows were 80s fodder.  They were heroic and exciting adventure for a youngster like me.  Bo and Luke Duke saved people and did the right thing, but I guess times have changed.  Everything has to be respectful, including past media.  Stores have banned General Lee replicas and model kits showing the car’s roof, where the flag prominently sits.

Should I throw out my cars?  I’m not sure.  I wanted to remember the exciting show and model the General Lee, that’s why I got a model kit of the car in the first place, but I guess if it’s respectful, they go in the trash.  The Dukes of Hazzard is still on television somewhere, because it’s a popular show, and I am guessing it will soon disappear too.  Hopefully, Mr. T’s mohawk doesn’t offend anyone.

general1

