Mystery Science Theatre 3000 Kickstarter SUCCEEDS

I thought it was a rumor, but creator Joel Hodgson ran a kickstarter (just recently) to fund a brand new series of episodes for Mystery Science Theatre 3000 (MST3K) and raked in over 3.5 million as of today (Tuesday).  As per the guidelines of the kickstarter, that means fans have funded 6 brand new feature length episodes of this famous cable show. 

Back in the day, MST3K showed crappy movies and used them for comedy fodder.  That show was a big influence on this blog, although I’m hardly a comedian, which is probably why Joel earned 3.5 million and I’m stuck writing about it.  Either way,  I’m happy.  This show has serious courage and stands on its own as one of the true originals.  

With millions of dollars, I hope they do something hilarious.  They’re promising more robots and lots of skits.  Not only that, Felicia Day and Patton Oswald have joined the cast and I’ve gotta say that those two people on a small show like this is amazing.  The only thing they need now is some crappy movies.

 

mst3k

