Twin Peaks – Episode 13 – Hey, I’m not gonna take this anymore

It’s hard to place the theme of Twin Peaks, Episode 13, but I guess if I’d have to choose, I’d say this episode shows how characters are at their wits end.  This is especially true of the villains, Evil Cooper and Duncan Todd.  

Todd is just surrounded by a bunch of idiots, and you can hear him seething as he calls Tony and tells him to get his act together.  Tony also is at his wits end, and can’t go through with the murder he’s hired to do by Todd, so he breaks down and confesses to Bushnell and Dougie Jones.  I guess if I had to criticize this part of the episode, I’d say it was kinda lazy and pretty convenient that Tony confesses to the plot detail we needed to move this boring part of the story along.  Further, the Dougie Jones part of the story is dragging at this point, with nothing really new in the past few episodes.  Too bad.

The next most important part of Episode 13 was the Evil Cooper showdown with Ray.  We know from prior episodes that he is seeking important information from Ray, and he gets it here through a show of force.  I don’t have much to complain about here, because it’s a straightforward scene and gets the job done, though it’s a bit strange with the suspense hanging over a weird arm wrestling contest.  It’s maybe a little predictable, but we get some important details and more mysterious plot points to consider.  Evil Cooper is really at his best here, and he’s not going to take any crap. 

I can take or leave the rest of the episode.  They give us more time with Chantell and her boyfriend, and we get more cherry pie sightings.  Fun times.  Overall, the whole Tony subplot takes up like 80 or 90% of the episode, but there’s a handful of other subplots still going on in this series.  The only one I didn’t get was the bit with Sarah Palmer, which I guess is a metaphorical scene meant to represent the current state of her life.  However, it could mean any number of things.  At this point, I haven’t a clue.

 

